2022 Annual Awards – Part 2

Our many champions and runners-up were celebrated at the Awards Banquet after the 18 – hole scramble tournament. Here is the list:

Men’s Club Champion – Championship FlightIan SadyJake Thompson
Men’s Club Champion – First FlightSteve StanfordRichard Olsen
Men’s Club Champion – Second FlightPaul DoodyTim Riley
Men’s Club Champion – Third FlightButch LittlefieldSteve Drake
Ladies Club Champion – Championship FlightLisa DesmarteauJenna Caler
Ladies President CupLeslie EatonSue Gordon
Men’s President CupJeff DutchPreston Ward
Four BallTim Riley
Don Pendergast
Cory Chase
Bill Farris
SeniorsKevin NickersonPreston Ward
Super SeniorsTerry WhitneyRick Cronin
Member Member – MenKeith Parker & Steve DrakeBerry & Sady
Delio & McDaniels (tie)
Member-Member – LadiesJenna Caler & Kelsey RichardsSue Hodgkins & Roxie Whitney
Lothrop Member GuestLeslie Eaton & June Parent (1st Net)Ian Sady & Andrew Dailey (1st Gross)
Member-GuestTerry Whitney & Dave Ames  Chad Place &Matt Lahaye
Player of the YearButch Littlefield
Most ImprovedJenna Caler

A delicious bar-b-que was served before the awards were distributed. Kevin Nickerson and Tony Field grilled the tasty steak and chicken. Roxie Whitney and Joan Bowen prepared a variety of delicious vegetables – special thanks to Crosspatch Farms! Brenda Barrett brought wonderful rolls, and Shirley Caler contributed her extra-special homemade potato salad. There were also plenty of desserts to choose from. Thank you to all who provided the fixings for the feast. Click for larger photos.

Before announcing the 2022 Award Winners, Master of Ceremonies Terry Whitney turned the mic over to Sue Gordon, President of the Board of Directors. Sue thanked John Hickson, our new PGA Pro, and all of the staff with these kind words:

Please join me in a round of applause for our awesome staff in appreciation for the fantastic job they do to keep our course and the club running smoothly and in terrific shape.  John and his pro shop staff: please stand: John, Paula, Shirley, Butch, Jenna, Lee, Scott, Carla, Tim, and Ron; and our super Super, Robb and his assistants: Caden, Win, Donnie and Tom.  We expect a lot from them and they always come through.  This was another challenging season with the lack of rain and the many irrigation leaks, but thanks to their hard work, the course remains in great condition.    

Comments by sue Gordon

Sue also thanked the Board of Directors as well as the many volunteers who worked hard this year – special mentions will be made in a following blog post.

Terry Whitney announced one of the most coveted awards of the year – the 2022 Armpit Award went to Dan Easton! There was a story behind Dan receiving the award, but details were sketchy. Don’t hesitate to ask Dan for specifics.

Robb Herron and John Hickson each spoke briefly about the golf course and pro shop operations. They also thanked their respective staffs, as well as the volunteers who go above and beyond.

Not everyone could be present for the Awards, but we have a number of photos to share. Thank you to all the members for choosing Northport Golf Club as your home course, and who made 2022 a great year!

Leave a Reply